Concealed Pistol License
Applications for Washington State Concealed Pistol Licenses are accepted at the Yakima Police Department Services Division Monday through Friday, (excluding holidays) between the hours of 9:00 AM and 4:00 PM. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age and must live within the Yakima City Limits. A valid Washington State Drivers License, ID Card or other government-issued photo ID is required in order to confirm identity. Non-US citizens may only apply after first obtaining an Alien Firearm License. Application for that license may be made through the Washington State Department of Licensing.
Original CPL applicants are fingerprinted. Licenses will be mailed to qualified applicants in 30 days. Applicants for CPL renewals may apply for renewal up to 90 days prior to the expiration date and as late as 90 days after the expiration date. A late fee is required in the case of renewals applied for after the expiration date. Concealed Pistol Licenses are valid for 5 years.
Lost Concealed Pistol Licenses issued by the Yakima Police Department can be replaced for a fee.
Fees are paid at the time of application and are non-refundable (Visa / Master Card, Cash, Money Orders or Personal Checks Accepted).
Concealed Pistol License FAQs
When do I need to have a Concealed Pistol License?
RCW 9.41.050 requires you to have a concealed pistol license when:
You are carrying a pistol concealed on your person or,
You are carrying or placing a loaded pistol in a vehicle.
Where do I apply for a Concealed Pistol License?
If you live within the city limits of Yakima you can apply in person at the Yakima Police Department.
If you live in the unincorporated area of the county, you must apply in person at the Sheriff’s Office. Non-Washington residents may apply at any local law enforcement agency in Washington State.
Our address is:
Yakima Police Department
200 S. 3rd St.
Yakima, WA 98901
What are the application hours?
Application hours are 9:00 am – 4:00 pm. weekdays, excluding holidays. The application process takes about 30 minutes.
Is there a background check?
Yes. You will need to be fingerprinted and a criminal history background check will be conducted before your license is issued.
Are there other requirements?
Yes. The following requirements must be met:
- Resident of the City of Yakima or a Non-Washington resident
- 21 years of age or older at time of application
- Be a United States citizen or a permanent resident alien with a permanent resident card (green card)
- No pending trial, appeal or sentencing on a prohibitive charge
- No outstanding warrants for any charge, from any court
- No court order or injunction against possessing a firearm
- No mental health prohibitors
- No felony convictions
- No convictions for any of the following crimes when committed by one family member against another on or after July 1, 1993;
- Assault IV
- Reckless Endangerment
- Criminal Trespass in the first degree
- Violation of the provisions of a protection order or no-contact order restraining the person or excluding the person from the residence
How long does it take before I receive my license?
If you are applying for your first concealed pistol license, it may take up to 30 days to complete the background check before the license is issued. If you do not have a Washington driver’s license or identification card it can take up to 60 days.
What documents will I need to bring with me?
You will need to bring:
- Picture identification, (i.e. Washington driver’s license or identification card)
- A fee of $49.25 cash, check, Visa/ Master Card or money order made payable to Yakima. This fee is nonrefundable.
How long is my Concealed Pistol License valid?
Your concealed pistol license is valid for five years from the date your license is issued. You will not receive a renewal notice and it is your responsibility to ensure your license has not expired.
How do I renew my Concealed Pistol License?
If you live within the City of Yakima, you may renew your concealed pistol license in person at the Yakima Police Department, during the hours of 9:00 am to 4:00 pm weekdays, excluding holidays. You may renew your license up to 90 days prior to the expiration date for a fee of $32.00, or up to 90 days after the expiration date for a late renewal fee of $42.00. You must provide picture identification and your current concealed pistol license. After 90 days you will be required to apply for an original license with a fee of $49.25.
What if I lose my concealed pistol license?
If you live in the City of Yakima, and your license has been lost, stolen or destroyed, you may obtain a replacement license. You will need to apply in person at the Yakima Police Department, during the hours of 9:00 am to 4:00 pm weekdays, excluding holidays. The fee for a replacement license is $10.00.
Does Washington have reciprocity for Concealed Pistol Licenses with any other states?
Washington has reciprocity or accepts concealed pistol licenses issued by a number of other states, so long as the handgun is carried in accordance with Washington law. The Washington State Attorney General’s web site provides a list of those states that have reciprocity with Washington for concealed pistol licenses.
For more information about firearms law:
If you would like to obtain more information pertaining to state firearms law, call the Department of Licensing in Olympia at (360) 664-6616.
You may also write to:
Department of Licensing
PO Box 9469
Olympia, WA 98504-9649
For questions regarding federal law pertaining to firearms, or if you would like to obtain a copy of Federal Firearms Regulations, please write or call:
The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF)
915 2nd Ave, Room 790
Seattle, WA 98174
For additional information, visit www.atf.gov.